List of common food ingredients and additives

Substance

Description

First Opinion

Second Opinion

Acetic Acid Occurs naturally in plant juices and can be prepared synthetically and can be obtained from animal tissues. Halal if it is made from plant sources or synthetically. If it is made from animal tissues, then it will not be Halal Halal and Suitable for Muslim to consume. Acetic acid from animal source is not available in markets.
Adipic Acid Occurs naturally in beets and can be prepared synthetically. As the source is plant, it is Halal. Halal.
Agar Agar Naturally occurs as seaweed, used in place of gelatine As the source is plant, it is Halal. Halal.
Beta-apo-8- Carotenal (C30) (Apocarotenal) (E160e) An orange/yellow colour derived from plants but may utilise gelatine or lard to dissolve in water. If lard or gelatine made from animal (other than fish) is used then it will not be suitable for Halal use. Products containing this additive are Halal regardless of the source of the additives
Carmine / Cochineal (E120) A colour obtained from a dried female insect, cochineal. It is not suitable for Halal use. Products containing this additive are Halal.
Casein A protein of milk used in the manufacture of cheeses. It is precipitated by acid or by animal or vegetable enzymes. If animal enzyme is used then it will not be suitable for Halal use. Halal
Chocolate Liquor Syrup made from chocolate and used for chocolate flavoured products. It is not liquor or alcohol but because it is a liquid it is called liquor. It is suitable for Halal use. It is suitable for Halal use.
Dextrose (corn syrup) Made from starch, used as a sweetener or colouring agent. As the source is plant, it is suitable for Halal use. As the source is plant, it is suitable for Halal use.
E153 – Carbon Black A colour obtained by charring bones, meat, blood, wood, vegetable etc. If charred from wood or vegetables then it will be suitable for Halal use. Halal, regardless of its source.
E322 Lecithin An emulsifier originally obtained from egg yolk but commercially prepared from Soya bean oil It is suitable for Halal use. It is suitable for Halal use.
E422–Glycerine/ Glycerol It is a clear, colourless, sweetish and viscous liquid obtained from the hydrolysis of fats and oils. It can be from animal, plant or prepared synthetically. If source is plant, then it is suitable for Halal use. Products containing this additive are Halal regardless of the source of the additives
E471–Mono and
Di-glycerides of fatty acids
Source may be animal or
plant depending on the glycerol used.
If source is plant, then it is suitable for Halal use. Products containing this additive are Halal.
E472 (a-f) Acid esters of Mono andDi-glycerides of fatty acids Made from animal or plant. If source is plant, then it is suitable for Halal use. Products containing this additive are Halal regardless of the source of the additives
E476–
Polyglycerol Esters of Polycondensed fatty acids of castor oil
It is prepared from castor oil and glycerol esters. If it is made using animal product then it will not be suitable for Halal use. Products containing this additive are Halal regardless of the source of the additives.
E621–
Monosodium Glutamate
It is made from Japanese seaweed, sugar beet pulp and wheat gluten. Source is plant, and therefore, suitable for Halal use. Halal, from plant source.
Gelatine A gelling agent made from either animal or plant. If the source is plant then it is suitable for Halal use. Halal, results from the transformation of Collagen.
Gaur Gum It is a thickener and/or stabilizer It is made from plant therefore it will be suitable for Halal use Halal
Lactic Acid It can be produced from corn, soy, sugar cane, beet sugar, whey or by synthetic process. If produced from whey then one has to check the source of rennet used. If the rennet used is from animal source then it will not be Halal. Halal
Pectin A gelling agent made from fruits. Commercially it is made from Apple pulp. It is used in preparation of jams, jellies and similar foods. It is suitable for Halal use. Halal, from plant source.
Pepsin A digestive enzyme found in animal stomach.
Commercially it is prepared from pig or calf stomachs.
It is not suitable for Halal use. Cheese produced by pepsin (negligible amount) are Halal regardless of the source of pepsin
Rennin (Rennet) An enzyme used in the production of cheese. Rennet added to milk gives cheese and a by-product called whey. It is produced from calf stomach, plants and microbe. If produced from calf stomach then it will not be suitable for Halal use if the animal was not slaughtered according to Islamic rite. Cheese produced by using rennet (in negligible amount) are Halal regardless of the source of rennet (Istihlak, assimilation rule.).
Whey
(Powder, Solids, Liquid)
It is a liquid that remains after the coagulation of the casein of milk. The coagulation of milk takes
place with the use of enzyme rennet
If the source of rennet is not Halal, then it will not be suitable for Halal use. Halal (Istihlak, assimilation rule.)